top of page

Josh Schicker music

  • Spotify
  • Bandcamp
  • Apple Music
  • TikTok
  • Deezer
  • Amazon
  • Youtube
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

Born in rural northern Michigan, singer-songwriter Josh Schicker began crafting songs with friends during the rise of alternative and grunge rock genres of the early 1990s. 


Since 2000, Schicker has released a number of independent albums and has toured nationally in support of these efforts. In 2005, Schicker had the fortune of working with Grammy-winning engineer/producer, Mitch Dane at Sputnik Sound studios in Nashville, TN. The result was a full-length album titled Moonlighting which was re-released in 2007 as a bonus track album. The additional track, "Good Mothers, Don't Leave!" was mentioned by title in NYT Best-Seller, Lisa McMann's young adult novel, Gone. Several other tracks have been featured on compilations since its release including MPress Records' New Arrivals Vol. 4 along with Seth Glier and Rachael Sage.

The 7-song EP, Faith, the Poor and Politics, released in 2012, was recorded in Michigan shortly before he relocated to Atlanta, GA. The EP was the subject of a post on the blog of Sojourners Magazine in the fall of 2012. Schicker made use of the popular crowd-funding platform, Indiegogo, to fund the duplication and distribution of Faith, the Poor and Politics.

In 2015, "No Place Like You" from Schicker's 2005 album, Moonlighting, was prominently featured in the indie film, Old Fashioned, written, directed and starring Rik Swartzwelder. The film's soundtrack was released on Milan Records now under Sony Music.

Schicker is currently focusing his efforts on writing and releasing independent recordings such as the Young Lovers EP (2018). He also is pursuing a future with the acoustic act, A Stranger and a Friend with song-writing partner, Lindsay Allward-Theimer and violinist, Catherine Espinosa. The group released their first EP, Nashville, in 2019 and is set to release the follow up, Atlanta in the fall of 2020. The first single from Atlanta, "Lifetime With Hurt", was released in the summer of 2020 during the COVID-19 pandemic lockdown.

About Josh Schicker

bottom of page